63 Comments
Jul 24Liked by Sara Petersen

For the past couple of years, I've more or less only been watching Call the Midwife (with small breaks for buzzy things like The Bear or Bridgerton, watching Seinfeld or SNL with my husband, etc.). Last week I was devastated to discover I had finished watching every single episode of Call the Midwife that's available, all the way through the end of season 12! But I'm now pleased to announce that I'm currently… re-watching Call the Midwife.

Expand full comment
author

Ok so many people have recced Call the Midwife - I must start.

Expand full comment

If you have never watched it, I recommend watching it from Season 1 forward. I found it charming to watch characters grow older and times change over the ~15 years.

Expand full comment
Jul 24Liked by Sara Petersen

You will likely sob every episode. I know I do. There are some hard topics too; including domestic violence, the onset of thalidomide injuries, etc.

Expand full comment
Jul 24Liked by Sara Petersen

It’s devastating but also so wonderful!

Expand full comment
Jul 24Liked by Sara Petersen

I heard to get through first few episodes before you decide as the charm doesn't land immediately.

Expand full comment

I started watching when I first pregnant with my son and it's such a happy memory for me. But made me very glad for some of the modern medical advancements! I'm eagerly awaiting my catch up of Season 12 in a few weeks once I binge the final season of The Umbrella Academy.

Expand full comment

I actually had to stop for a while when I was postpartum — it was too much!

Expand full comment

I used to like the show until I had a traumatic birth- now unfortunately it is something I have to actively avoid!

Expand full comment
author

that makes complete sense! not the same - but i tried to watch tully shortly after i'd experienced postpartum depression and had to turn it off within ten minutes.

Expand full comment

Ugh I can totally see that. I’m sorry to hear it 😞

Expand full comment

Oh, I completely get that! It was so hard to watch any of the really hard baby stuff.

Expand full comment
Jul 24Liked by Sara Petersen

My Lady Jane is absolutely the best - funny, very smart, period dramedy - must watch!

Expand full comment

Agreed! It was Jane the Virgin vibes and has been such a delight to watch

Expand full comment

i've only seen the first 2 eps but very enjoyable!

Expand full comment
Jul 24Liked by Sara Petersen

Revisiting New Girl - it is aging poorly (though were the fat jokes ever ok?) and I really disbelieve the central love arc, but it is so totally absurd it retains enough hilarity to be a diversion.

Expand full comment
Jul 24Liked by Sara Petersen

This was my hair-drying and laundry-folding show for quite a long time! It is very problematic (and kind of wild how recently we just accepted this kind of thing??) but very very entertaining.

Expand full comment
Jul 24Liked by Sara Petersen

Rewatching Somebody Feed Phil from the beginning with my kids: hoping to install a love of travel and food adventures in these picky sheltered kids 😂

Expand full comment
Jul 24Liked by Sara Petersen

i mostly watch reality tv these days so i'm currently going through real housewives of new jersey for the first time - watching rich women with NJ italian accents destroy each other's lives and families turns the brain off.

for more uplifting content i really enjoyed sprint on netflix about 100 and 200m men and women sprinters - i'm sure i'd love the f1 series too from what ppl say but the car racing doesn't inherently appeal to me as much as a 20 second sprint in slow motion. all sports should be done in a documentary style bc i need to know who i'm rooting for based on personality!

Expand full comment

I'm into reality TV rn, too - love Sprint, also Tour de France: Unchained has been a good watch (and my husband and I both enjoy both of these). I am making my way thru the latest season of Married At First Sight (on my own, husband wouldn't deign to watch this). Also a RHONY franchise junkie, but all up-to-date on that!

Expand full comment

i enjoy that old and new rhony are completely different vibes - i know a lot of ppl were upset about the reboot but as much as i enjoyed the og trainwreck, i'm always here for a new cast!

Expand full comment

Currently recommending Deadloch on Amazon Prime to everyone who asks about TV.

It’s an Australian show that’s both an homage to and a satire of noirish small town crime shows but it’s so well done that it’s good on its own merits. Only the first season is out so far but it’s incredible.

Expand full comment
author

oh FUN

Expand full comment

Yes! This show was so funny but also contained a great mystery.

Expand full comment
Jul 24Liked by Sara Petersen

Dropout.tv! It’s a streaming service that’s just a bunch of nerdy, improv comics having fun. They just launched a new show hosted by Monet X Change that’s this hybrid Mr Roger’s/ Sesame Street but grown up and queer.

It’s just pure laughs and joy.

Expand full comment
Jul 24Liked by Sara Petersen

Shogun and Fellow Travelers for when you're in the mood for a lovely novel but can't summon the energy to read. Both are up for all the Emmys.

Expand full comment

House of Dragons is it for me! But missing Tyrion Lannister terribly!

Expand full comment

I loved Tyrion, I was so worried they would kill him off!

But I just dove into Presumed Innocent and Palm Royale on Apple TV. The latter has Carol Burnett in it and I believe she’s been nominated for an Emmy. I like to wait until there’s multiple episodes so I can binge watch

Expand full comment
author

excellent strategy!

Expand full comment

I’ve been watching historical fiction—The Empress, The Cook of Castamae, etc. Nothing too serious but enough to help me escape the drama of the current world.

Expand full comment

also love The Empress!

Expand full comment
Jul 24Liked by Sara Petersen

The unadulteratedly ridiculous, shameless trainwreck that Too Hot To Handle brings me is unparalleled. It lacks the in-built trauma of other dating shows because it's inherently unserious, and sometimes you even see the people grow and get really attached to them! It's really nice when I've had a stressful day.

I've also been enjoying the new Lady Jane miniseries on Prime; it's rooted in history but then completely reinterprets it with a side of magic. It's really fun, great music, great pace, wonderful cast (Anna Chancellor? Rob Brydon? Hell yeah). I didn't expect to love it as much as I do.

Expand full comment

My 14 year old daughter and I are watching Derry Girls on Netflix. Teens in mid 90s Northern Ireland. The absurdity! The shenanigans! So delightful.

Severance on Apple TV is VERY good but it’s a bit of a thinker.

Taskmaster has 17 seasons, it’s a British “game show” Kind of? I laugh out loud every episode and it’s a good kind of laughing at funny people doing silly things and laughing right along with you. Cannot recommend enough.

Expand full comment

I can't tolerate much at the end of the day and I don't like shows where there's mean energy. Hence I loved Schitt's Creek. I'm late to the party, but LOVING Julia (HBO), really enjoy Resident Alien (a few crooked episodes season 1 as cast/crew finds rhythm), People of Earth clever premise, The Great, Loot with Maya Rudolf, Unstable, Reboot, Shrinking, Episodes, Slings and Arrows, Better Things, Season 1 Our Flag Means Death, Lessons in Chemistry, Kominsky Method, Married, Casual, Astronaut's Wives Club, For All Mankind, Survival of the Thickest. Mostly nothing truly stellar or would totally pass the PC test, but I enjoyed these.

Expand full comment
author

ADORE Schitt's Creek - my ultimate comfort watch!

Expand full comment

and somebody, somewhere and Life and Beth.

Expand full comment

When the news is hard and summer with kids is a slog, I am so grateful for my extended Netflix universe of stupidly hot people doing stupid things on TV. So, all I'm watching right now is the latest season of Perfect Match. These people are just so boring and terrible and I cannot recommend it enough. Next up is the new season of Too Hot To Handle. I swear I'm so smart and literary but boy do I just want to massage my brain in summer.

Expand full comment

Durrell's of Corfu

Expand full comment
author

Oh right! I started that but haven't finished (forgot about it!)

Expand full comment

Sunny, The Boys, Dark Matter, Loot!

Expand full comment
author

lots of recs for The Boys!

Expand full comment

It’s great. Funny, gory, action, it has it all

Expand full comment

I also remembered how much I enjoyed Transatlantic which intersects with the novel Postmistress of Paris based on true story, Glynnis suggested Miss Fisher's Mysteries in her book and I want to watch, Dickenson was really fun and Only Murders in the Building is a fun ride.

Expand full comment

1000% also would rec Call the Midwife and The Great, otherwise it’s been a summer of not much outside House of the Dragon and of course Americas Sweethearts which I absolutely devoured and the obsessively read all the Culture Study analysis of 😅

Expand full comment

I watch pretty tv: season two of Bridgerton, The Great British Baking Show, Shrinking, and when I need sleep I watch The Big Bang Theory because my brain shuts off as soon as I hear it. It’s like Soma.

Expand full comment

I only watch female protagonists and can't do horror or gore, so with those caveats here are my perfect shows: BETTER THINGS (oh my god it's so good, you have to watch it, Pam Adlon is a genius), Abbott Elementary (hilarious, light), Somebody Somewhere (again, a creator/star who is a genius), HACKS (hilarious, poignant, smart). Knowing your writing and perspective, I think you would love these if you don't already watch!

Expand full comment
author

obsessed with all three of these!! (so you were right lol)

Expand full comment

I just started watching Shogun because I heard so many great things about it. It is definitely not "turn your brain off" television but I like that half of it is in Japanese with subtitles because it forces me to put my phone down and actually pay attention.

Expand full comment
author

oh YES

Expand full comment

How about fraught family relationships and robots? Sunny on Apple TV starting Rashida Jones is turning out to be a weird little “who really was my dead husband?” mystery

Expand full comment
author

ooooh i love rashida jones!

Expand full comment

The Witcher on Netflix might also scratch that Game of Thrones itch for you (and Henry Caville as the titular Witcher is divine). Just go into the first season knowing that it doesn’t totally make sense and enjoy the ride (and Henry Caville in leather pants). In that same vein the Dungeons and Dragons movie is delightfully as well.

Expand full comment

My husband and I have been revisiting our favorite action movies from the 90s. We were teenagers, these “plots” if we can call them that are extremely ridiculous, and none of them have a breadth of depth to them which is exactly what this moment calls for. So far we’ve watched Face/Off, Twister, and Air Force One. Next up, my personal favorite: True Lies!

Expand full comment
author

oh my gosh SO FUN - brett and i recently watched Twister (i had somehow never seen it??) and totally agree these 90s thrillers are weirdly soothing!

Expand full comment

The White Lotus! I was late to it but recently watched both seasons. Escapist fun (S1 is set at a resort in Hawaii, S2 is set at a resort in Italy) with a not-scary murder mystery in each. Amazing ensemble casts and acting.

Expand full comment
author

ugh it's THE BEST I want more!

Expand full comment

We are watching Acolyte, the Star Wars prequel series on Disney. We are Star Wars geeks so we watch it all. It was a bit slow to start but the finale was amazing with great light saber force use fight scenes. Also, many women are front and center in this story which I love.

Expand full comment

The Boys and also revisiting Brooklyn Nine-Nine

Expand full comment

Britbox and Acorn

Expand full comment

The Boys on Prime! Watching its latest season this past month and HotD is “relaxing” for me too. Loki seasons 1 and 2 are incredible and work together as a solid super long movie.

Expand full comment
author

never heard of EITHER!

Expand full comment

The Boys is an “anti-super hero”, superhero show (gore, violence, sex, and tons of humor) and very, very political in its later seasons. Stands alone great.

Loki, is great, but doesn’t stand alone as well if you aren’t somewhat familiar with the Marvel mcu.

Expand full comment