47 Comments
Jul 10Liked by Sara Petersen

MALIBU RISING

Expand full comment

Of these great women books, I think “Carrie Soto is Back” is the best. Also a great beach read.

Expand full comment
author

do you need to care about tennis to like it?

Expand full comment
Jul 12Liked by Sara Petersen

Not at all - I learned a bunch about tennis but didn't need to care to get sucked into the book

Expand full comment
Jul 10Liked by Sara Petersen

Crazy rich Asians hand down

Expand full comment

yes!! his newest stand alone lies and weddings was also great, give me all the rich people drama

Expand full comment

Yes!! Came here to say this.

Expand full comment

*yes* 👏

Expand full comment
Jul 10Liked by Sara Petersen

SUMMER SISTERS

Expand full comment

Seconded!

Expand full comment

Was coming here to say the same thing!!

Expand full comment
Jul 10Liked by Sara Petersen

THE IDEA OF YOU (the book is a million times better than the movie)

Expand full comment

FUNNY STORY Emily Henry - loved it so much and this was my first EH read!

Expand full comment

MEET ME AT THE LAKE was a great escape read while I was at the lake last weekend. Even reading it in sentence/paragraph increments (interrupted by two young children constantly) I still flew through it.

Expand full comment

BEAUTIFUL RUINS by Jess Walter - will make you want to move to Italy immediately.

Expand full comment
author

Ah YES I read that a few years ago - loved it.

Expand full comment

DAISY JONES AND THE SIX

Expand full comment
author

ahhhhhh YES - I devoured the show!

Expand full comment

The book is just as good if not better!

Expand full comment
Jul 11Liked by Sara Petersen

Agree to anything by Elin Hildebrand and Emily Henry. WELCOME HOME STRANGER was a good, quick, thoughtful read. HUSBANDS. SANDWICH 1000000%. Enjoyed SICILIAN INHERITANCE for sure. REAL AMERICANS and GOODBYE VITAMIN by Rachel Khong. Enjoy your beach reading!

Expand full comment
Jul 11Liked by Sara Petersen

Anything by Emily Henry, Jasmine Guillory, Elin Hildebrand and Kristin Hannah and Christina Lauren!

Expand full comment
Jul 10Liked by Sara Petersen

CRAZY RICH ASIANS and LIES AND WEDDINGS! Love me some Kevin Kwan in the summertime.

Expand full comment

TWILIGHT, I know but I'm sticking by my choice.

Expand full comment
Jul 10Liked by Sara Petersen

unfortunately I don’t have any recs for this, but I’m going to cape cod in two weeks and will be livingggg in this comments section for ideas until then

Expand full comment
Jul 10Liked by Sara Petersen

Anything by Beth O’Leary, Helen Hoang, Alisha Rai. And you already listed my fave authors and books. The Sicilian Inheritance?! (Chef’s kiss) 🤌

Expand full comment
Jul 10Liked by Sara Petersen

SUCH A BAD INFLUENCE by Olivia Muenter! Influencing! Sharanting! Missing persons case!

Expand full comment
Jul 11Liked by Sara Petersen

Okay this is not remotely what you asked for, but if anyone is into narrative nonfiction The Big House by George Howe Colt was one of my favorite beach reads the last few years. It almost made my stack for this year's trip as a reread, but in the end my stack was to tall (librarian problems) and I pulled it out. Good stuff.

Expand full comment
author

wow a reread!

Expand full comment
Jul 10Liked by Sara Petersen

I'm reading A Year in the Maine Woods, and Tell the Wolves I'm Home

Expand full comment

VACATIONLAND by Meg Mitchell Moore

Expand full comment

Currently reading Sandwich and it hits all the criteria!

Expand full comment

Sorry, SANDWICH

Expand full comment

It is SO. GOOD.

Expand full comment

My fave beach reads are rich people behaving badly and facing consequences. Some recent ones I liked are VERY BAD COMPANY and BAD SUMMER PEOPLE. PINEAPPLE STREET, WIVES LIKE US, and MALIBU RISING.

Expand full comment
author

LOVED pineapple street and I share your enthusiasm for rich people behaving badly!!

Expand full comment
Jul 10Liked by Sara Petersen

I loved WIVES LIKE US. I read it just before a trip to the Cotswolds and forced everyone I met to buy a copy. While in a local English bookstore, the owner whispered to me-- the author is just like her characters.... there you have it! What better rec can you get?

Expand full comment
author

deLICIOUS

Expand full comment
Jul 10Liked by Sara Petersen

I just started Bad Summer People and I'm digging it so far. Pineapple Street was great too.

Expand full comment

Anything Emily Henry, Just read How to End a Love Story by Yulin Kuang. AMazing. Also, anything by Christina Lauren

Expand full comment

Emily Henry’s Beach Read gets my vote!

Expand full comment
author

ahhhh EVERYTHING Emily Henry!

Expand full comment

💯

Expand full comment

Ashley Poston is great—she’s like Emily Henry but with a fun magical realism twist! Her new book A NOVEL LOVE STORY is good but my fave of hers is THE SEVEN YEAR SLIP.

Also recommend anything by Dolly Alderton, THE HAPPY COUPLE by Naoise Dolan, THE RACHEL INCIDENT by Caroline O’Donaghue, and REALLY GOOD, ACTUALLY by Monica Heisey

Expand full comment

THIS SUMMER WILL BE DIFFERENT

Expand full comment
author

oooooooh

Expand full comment

THE MIDNIGHT FEAST by Lucy Foley. Posh resort on the English coast, rotating narrators, class drama, old secrets, spooky and delicious. White Lotus meets the Blair Witch Project. Devoured it!

Expand full comment

This is a few years old but "You Deserve Each Other" by Sarah Hogle. I just remember it being hilarious and fun. I've only read one Olivia Dade book but have heard good things. I really like Emma Lord - cute YA fiction. Abby Jimenez writes great romance but usually more emotional.

Expand full comment